Transcendental Meditation

I saved a post from Gabby Bernstein on February 16th, about this book.  Looked good and I wanted to follow it up later.

This week, as part of our Leadership Team (LT) check-in, we’ve been asked to commit to one wellness based ‘thing’ that we’ll start on Sunday; we needed to put it in our Visual Management Board (or VMB – we love a good acronym where I work.)

Originally I wrote, ‘This year I’ve started doing two PT sessions a week, walk 10k steps most days and have cut out gluten and dairy.  So I’ll commit to a daily meditation practice’.  Then I decided that sounded a bit self-satisfied and pretentious so edited it down to, ‘I intend to meditate 5-10 minutes each day.’

And then in Big W today I find Bob Roth’s book, for $16.  Meant to be.  Jumping on my raft (have I shared that analogy?)  And also in the interests of riding that raft down the river, I’ve registered for a TM info session in Subiaco next Sunday at 2.30pm.

So what I’ve learned so far is that TM is something you do for 20 minutes morning and evening; lots of celebs love it (and the author taught it to Russell Brand, so frankly that’s enough for me!).  Jerry Seinfeld likened it to you being a cell phone, and TM is the charger.

In separate matters:

  • Uni starts next week.  Think I told you I plan to withdraw from the third unit.  See below.
  • I’ve dropped out of Auslan.  Would’ve loved to continue but it added too much to my schedule – especially with uni starting, plus I have to actively manage my stress and anxiety – hence meditation 😉
  • Walked around Bibra Lake with Helen this morning and then continued the catch up down at South Beach with a coffee.

That’ll do, donkey.  That’ll do.

Love you, bye xx

Leave a comment